Classical Deutsche Grammophon Endulgence

Another magnificent day for music!

In the waiting room at an appointment today, the radio was tuned to the classical station and I really enjoyed a piano sonata by Beethoven.  Admittedly a laymen when it comes to classical, I was bitten by the bug and decided to investigate further.  Given my limited knowledge of the genre, I set my sights on the tried-and-true Deutsche Grammophon label and popped into my local antique shop to see what I could find.

It was my lucky day!  Waiting for me on their shelves were 8 volumes of the Deutsche Grammophon Beethoven Bicentennial Collection!  Featuring the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, each volume is packaged in a sturdy box set slipcase – each containing five discs and a book packed with information that I will thoroughly enjoy drinking in!

Deutsche Grammophon Beethoven Bicentennial Collection

Each of the volumes was magnificently well cared-for – the discs shined and appeared barely-played.  And for $1 per disc I couldn’t pass up the opportunity.

I followed up the purchase with a call to The Bop Shop in Rochester, NY which should be able to supply me with the remaining volumes.  And just my luck – November is planned to be a half-0ff sale on their massive classical library, so I’m planning another trip before Christmas!

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://innerspacelabs.wordpress.com/2014/10/25/classical-deutsche-grammophon-endulgence/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

