The Song Remains the Same

My massive birthday post is still on hold as I battle the US Post Office over a significant insurance claim involving the largest gift.

Today I was reading a wonderful science article with the amusing title, “Pop Music Too Loud And All Sounds the Same: Official.”  For the first time a pool of a million songs were compared and a trend was discovered that pop music has become louder and more bland as time passes.

I found the article linked on Reddit, and many pages deep into the comments section I was ecstatic to find links to several amusing and informative Youtube vids which I already knew and loved, along with a fantastic clip I’d missed from ’11 titled, “Shitty Pop Song.”

So for all my readers who share my distaste for contemporary pop , I offer the following.  If you stay with me through these few vids, the final clip is an absolutely outstanding 18 minute documentary about the world’s most sampled 6 second drum loop.  It has been a favorite of mine since ’06.

Enjoy!

“Shitty Pop Song”

“Four Chord Song”

“The Lick”

And finally – “The World’s Most Important 6-Second Drum Loop”

To anyone who stays through all these clips… we need to hang out.

Published in: on July 26, 2012 at 11:22 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://innerspacelabs.wordpress.com/2012/07/26/the-song-remains-the-same/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

