I had this Sunday off so I took a trip to a neighborhood filled with antique shops and spent the better part of the day digging for treasure.

Found a late 70s Meters LP, but I prefer their pre-disco stuff.

Took home a “Weird Al” 7inch w picture sleeve – the song, “This is the Life” which he wrote for the classic comedy, Johnny Dangerously.

Weird Al - This is the Life

Visited a few junktique shacks and found a fun item at an estate sale just as they were closing up.

SS2 Book and Record

This was the second Sesame Street album released.  I have Book and Record #1, so I was happy to find the follow up.  This album was also released as a box set with stickers, but I don’t imagine it turns up very often.

The album features a number of my favorite classic Sesame Street songs, including two tracks that appear on Grover Sings the Blues, which I’d been looking for.

Someday I’d like to get my hands on the original 14 volume Sesame Street Treasury complete with Big Bird book holder that I had as a child, but not just yet – I’d have no place to put it.

IN OTHER NEWS – I’ve just completed my latest audio archival project!

Over the years I’ve collected a ton of Soul Coughing and Mike Doughty unreleased/live/rare/b-side material from various sources.  This past week I decided it was time to overhaul the folders.  I tracked down the original sources again and re-downloaded all the files at lossless CD quality.

Then, as none of the files had any ID3 track info (no song titles, artists, etc.) I manually entered in 550 tracks worth of information based on set lists from the live shows.

Finally, I organized the files, saved recording source information with each set and created a .torrent so that Soul Coughing/Doughty fans everywhere can enjoy it.

(Mike Doughty has commented on numerous occasions that he is cool with tape trading, as long as the shows are recorded directly from the soundboard.)

If you’ve already got all the SC+Doughty albums and are hungry for more, pick up the rarities collection here.

Soul Coughing

Published in: on March 21, 2011 at 3:44 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://innerspacelabs.wordpress.com/2011/03/21/new-fun-finds-latest-project/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

