More From PFunk and Overton Loyd

Funkentelechy Vs. the Placebo Syndrome was released by Parliament in 1977. Beside being one of Parliament’s finest albums, it came with extras that would never be possible in a cassette or CD format.

Parliament-Funkentelechy

Funkentelechy Vs. The Placebo Syndrome

Both the fold-out poster of Sir Nose D’Voidoffunk and the included comic were illustrated by Overton Loyd.

Above: The comic book from FVPS

Sir Nose D'Voidoffunk Poster

The Sir Nose D’Voidoffunk Poster

Loyd is best known for creating the cover art for Motor Booty Affair, which was released the following year.

Billboard Magazine recognized Loyd for “Best Use of Computer Graphics” back in ’82 for the video effects in George Clinton’s “Atomic Dog.”

Funkentelechy was one of the first three Parliament records I bought, and has always remained a favorite.

And during my last trip to Rochester I replaced my copy of the live P.Funk Earth Tour LP with a copy that still had the poster of Dr. Funkenstein inside.

Dr Funkenstein poster
In my next post I’ll feature my favorite PFunk artist – Pedro Bell.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://innerspacelabs.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/more-from-pfunk/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The sir nose pictures have been hard to come good artwork p funk in Detroit all day. Can you get to that.

    • Can’t make it out to Detroit, but if you check my most recent post you’ll see I’ve just picked up another of the PFunk comic books, this time from a sealed Bootsy LP.

  2. I LOVE EVERTHING PARLIMENT FUNCKADELIC FROM MAGGOT BRAIN THRU THE 80’S HOW CAN I GET SOME OF ALBUM ART WORK

  3. Thanks for uploading the Sir Nose comic to the web! Just added one of the pics on my blog. You’re a top bloke! Cheers!

  4. Dopeness!!!


Leave a Reply

