Footwear Repairs

Yesterday I was fortunate enough to find an .isoVHS rip of Underworld’s video compilation titled Footwear Repairs by Craftsmen At Competitive Prices from 1998.  I own the original VHS but it’s wonderful to have it accessible on my PC.

Footwear Repairs

The experimental videos were created by Tomato (an incredible graphic design team that shares core members with the band.) Tomato is the reason I got into design, specifically the extensive packaging of JBOLP1 – Dubnobasswithmyheadman.

Dubnobasswithmyheadman

Cover art for the Dubnobasswithmyheadman 2LP

Have a look at the video for “Dark Train” and take note of the stark black and white typography that flickers across the screen.  A few of these frames are lifted directly from Dubnobass… while others appear in a book published by Tomato titled, mmm… skyscraper, i love you: A Typographical Journal of New York.

mmm... skyscraper (1994)
A page from mmm… skyscraper (1994)

“Dark Train” from Footwear Repairs… VHS

The tape also features a video for the song, “Spikee.”  The track recently popped into my head and I had to go digging for it as I’d forgotten the name.  It was released in 1993 as a single backed with “Dogman Go Woof” and I don’t think it resurfaced until the 2003 compilation titled, Underworld 1992-2002.  The lyrics favor rhythm over communication and make for a very addictive tune which I plan to order on vinyl just as soon as I’ve got the cash.

Published in: on February 26, 2011 at 12:22 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://innerspacelabs.wordpress.com/2011/02/26/footwear-repairs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey, Underworld is one my all time favorite groups. I also own Footwear Repairs by Craftsmen At Competative Prices on VHS. Where did you find it for download for PC? That would be nice to have, I don’t think it will ever come out on DVD. Thanks.

    • The .ISO is available from the RTSR Tracker. I currently have over 200 Underworld related albums, singles and live shows and much of it is on vinyl. Also just ordered the Spikee / Dogman Go Woof 12″ mentioned in the post above, along with the Dark and Long single. If you’re ever looking to trade anything drop me a line!


Leave a Reply

