First Trip to a Local Antique Mall

Today I picked up a few fun LPs at a local antique mall that a fellow record collector was kind enough to introduce me to.

The first album was purchased purely for reasons of nostalgia (one of my favorite reasons to buy an LP.)  I’m really dating myself when I say this but, I believe An American Tail was the first film I ever saw in a movie theater.  In fact I still have the Fievel Christmas stocking that McDonalds sold with their gift certificates in 1986.  An American Tail LP in mint condition for $2?  Sign me up.

An American Tail

The other purchase was a soundtrack as well, purchased because of T.O.N.T.O.

If the name isn’t familiar, T.O.N.T.O. is the world’s largest modular synthesizer.

T.O.N.T.O.

T.O.N.T.O. has connections to a number of artists from the mid-to-late 70s, including guitarist and ambient musician Steve Hillage.  (Fans of the Canterbury scene will recognize Hillage as a member of Gong and System 7, and from his recordings with Egg.)  But perhaps the most widely recognized T.O.N.T.O. recording is Stevie Wonder’s “Superstition.”

Take a look at this clip from the BBC Documentary, Soul Deep.

I’ve got each of the LPs Stevie Wonder recorded with T.O.N.T.O as well as T.O.N.T.O.’s own album – Zero Time, considered a CLASSIC by modular synth fans.

So when I saw the album below, I didn’t think twice about buying it.

Phantom Of The Paradise

This is the original soundtrack to Brian De Palma’s Phantom of the Paradise.  The film – a sort of a musical mash up of The Phantom of the Opera, Faust, and the Rocky Horror Picture Show, features T.O.N.T.O. throughout its score.

The movie itself was a massive flop.  It disappeared from theaters almost instantly.  Except… in Winnipeg, where for some bizarre reason the picture sold out theaters on and off for over a year.  Fans raced into record stores and bought 20,000 copies of the soundtrack.  But only in Winnepeg!

If you’ve been reading my blog since it’s earliest days on Myspace (hereafter referred to as “the Dark Times”), then you already know that I’ve always tried to learn the history behind each album I buy.

I had a great time at the antique mall, and I expect I’ll find many more fun albums there in the future.

End note: If you haven’t already checked them out a hundred times, I highly recommend a visit to lpcoverlover.com and bizarrerecords.com.

Me and My Bean Bag

Published in: on February 20, 2011 at 10:02 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://innerspacelabs.wordpress.com/2011/02/20/first-trip-to-a-local-antique-mall/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

