Hardcore Jollies

Took another trip to the Super Flea today and found some great items!

I stopped by a pinball and arcade vendor I hadn’t seen before – he fully restores vintage gaming machines and builds custom mods.  He had an original Pac-Man machine and a few other Pac-related arcades that he had modified to play 40-60 games each.  After speaking with him I learned that these were not your typical MAME (multiple arcade machine emulator) cabinets – he actually installs the hardware for all 40 titles into one machine!

The coolest item in his booth was an original Doctor Who pinball machine, fully restored and looking brand new!

Dr Who Pinball Back Box

Dr Who Pinball Table

From there I made my way to a record vendor who I knew had a title I was looking for.  But I was surprised to find not one but eight original Parliament Funkadelic LPs.  They were stickered with outrageously high prices.  He was asking $65 for a VG condition copy of Gloryhallastoopid, which one can readily acquire for between $8 and $12.   I leveled with him and when he realized how well I knew my P-Funk history he conceded and let me name my price.

I walked away with Funkadelic’s Hardcore Jollies, which features wildly funky album art by the great Pedro Bell.

Hardcore Jollies
To date I’ve got 12 LPs from Parliament/Funkadelic/Bootsy’s Rubber Band.  I also have a few albums that Fred Wesley recorded with the Horny Horns around the same time they were performing with the PFunk.

Most likely the next related disc I’ll look for is “(I Wanna) Testify” – the hit single released by The Parliaments (George Clinton’s barbershop doo-wop group) in 1967.

For those who missed the Mothership Connection live in Houston Halloween night 1976, this is the most soulful moment of the show.  Watch the landing of the Mothership while Glen Goins takes us to church…

Published in: on January 30, 2011 at 10:41 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://innerspacelabs.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/hardcore-jollies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for the neat post!
    I enjoy hearing about what you discover at these flea markets and various locations for finding cool stuff.
    Super cool about the arcade machine!
    I certainly want a custom MAME machine built when I can afford it.
    I am jealous that you have access to cool flea markets near you.


Leave a Reply

