More Floyd

Two weekends ago I checked out the massive Super Flea Market near my new apartment.  It’s the largest flea market I’ve ever seen.

 

Super Flea Market

Buffalo's Super Flea Market

Right away I found a record booth filled with pop/rock LPs in varying condition.  I ended up walking away with the early Stones’ LP – Out of Their Heads (the one that features “Satisfaction”) and two Pink Floyd albums.  The first was a copy of The Wall, an album I’d never gotten around to buying in the past.  The other was A Collection of Great Dance Songs, hardly an essential disc but it was thrown in for free.

After my visit to the flea market I looked it up online and discovered that it had been raided by police and immigration agents one day earlier.  BuffaloNews.com reported that more than $81,000 in counterfeit sports apparel was seized by a 16-member team at 10:30 am December 5th.

The Wall nearly completes my Pink Floyd vinyl discography, which began with an absolutely amazing find ->

At a yard sale a few years back I found a disc in a plain white jacket.  There was a 12″ x 12″ print and a slip of paper tucked into the sleeve.

Pink Floyd Live insert

Pink Floyd Live tracklist

I bought the white sleeve for a dollar and went home to research the set list.  It turned out to be an Italian bootleg of an unreleased performance from Earl’s Court, London from 06-08-80.  The recording is high quality stereo and it was listed as very rare.  Not bad for a buck.

Published in: on December 20, 2010 at 10:44 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://innerspacelabs.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/more-floyd-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

