The Hunt Begins

Before I even touched down on Buffalo soil, I began scouring the web for used record shops in the Buffalo area.  The two most promising results were Spiral Scratch (like the Buzzcocks’ EP) on Bryant Street and Record Baron on Delaware Ave.

I’ve since visited both shops and was very happy with what I found.  Spiral Scratch had a copy of Dr. Demento’s Mementos, which features a number of tunes I learned to love from the Friggin’ Here Radio Show on WITR.  “My Wife Left Town With a Banana,” “Space Invaders,” and “My Name is Not Merv Griffin” are just a few of the memorable songs from this record.

Dr Demento's Mementos

Dr Demento's Mementos

Record Baron is nearly the same size as Spiral Scratch, but is absolutely packed wall to wall with LPs.  Every disc is in VG+ to NM condition, and the owner does not waste his time with junk LPs.  He had nearly a dozen Captain Befheart albums, a pile of Parliament Funkadelic, and much more.

I asked about one album in particular from ’72 that I’d been stalking copies of online.  The owner walked over to  a shelf and pulled out a pristine copy for me!

Gentle Giant – Octopus (with die-cut jar cover)

Gentle Giant’s combination of progressive rock and madrigal song was something my father introduced me to 20 years ago.  Below is a clip from the Giant on the Box DVD (recommended for any fans of the band.)

Published in: on December 20, 2010 at 10:55 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://innerspacelabs.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/52/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

